It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Children - Special Needs Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2011, 08:08 AM   #1
(female)

newmee HB User
Mentally Challenged 17 year old

Hello all - I'm new to site - but have a question that has been bothering me for a while. I am dating a man who has been divorced for 6 months (but separated for 4 years) The really odd thing was that the mother lived in the same house for those 4 years in separate rooms. They lived separate lives but they felt it was better for the 3 boys to stay together for a while (boys are 17, 20 and 25) - this too I thought was odd. The eldest has anxiety problems and doesn't leave house much, won't travel except to work and diagnoses himself with medical problems all the time, the middle boy (age 20) is never home, is lazy and "appears" to be spaced out all the time, and the youngest has a "mental" disorder which my boyfriend states is because he had seizures as a child. He says the child has the mind of a ten year old, has ADHD and has motor skill issues. The mother recently moved out (about 3 months ago) and does not have a relationship with the 3 boys. Boys live with dad (my boyfriend). What I see going on now is horrible. My boyfriend seems to be "buying" their love now. He gives them money, always buys things for them. Which I guess could be guilt. But the thing that bothers me the most is this. The youngest never showers or brushes his teeth. We just got back from 8 days of vacation and he only took 1 shower and brushed his teeth one time. My boyfriend does not encourage hygiene and only laughs about it when I bring it up. He says that's just the way he is. The child also does and says annoying things all the time and talks about stealing things and doing things that are completely outrageous and his dad does nothing. This child is annoying to no end and the father (my boyfriend) says nothing