It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Children's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2003, 10:13 AM   #1
(female)

slaughter17 HB User
Exclamation 2 1/2 year old with imaginary friend...This is kinda long

Hello. my 2 1/2 year old daughter just started picking up an imaginary friend. I am new to this. It kinda freaks me out! She carrys full conversations with this person named "Lolly." My DH asked her one day if Lolly was a boy or girl. She responed with "girl." My brother who lives with us, tells me he can hear her at night talking, and sometimes yelling at Lolly. Isn't she a little young to start this? Should I worry?

From the time she was really little she has always been above average in everything. Talking, knowing her ABC's and shapes etc. I have heard that children who are really smart tend to have imaginary friends. Is this true?
My father just passed away a few months ago. He and Jade, my daughter, were inseperable. He was with her from birth until the day he died. She kept him going most days. Some people in my family believe that she is the reason why he lived so long with his illness. Could this be her way of dealing with the loss?
Also, Jade tells me things that have come true. For instance, I am pregnant and we all thought it was a boy. Jade kept telling us it was a girl. She would get mad at us if we called the baby a boy. Well, we found out yesterday that it is a girl. She was right! She tells us that the baby is sitting on grandpa's lap in heaven. Sometimes it can go as far as her telling me who is on the phone as it is ringing. She has never been wrong. This is so strange to me. Am I overreacting? Help.
Sorry for so many questions, I just don't know where to go with this? Anyone had this happen to them in any way?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-06-2003, 12:27 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Mommyof4 HB User