It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Children's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2003, 06:07 AM   #1

Karrinna HB User
Unhappy Honey is bad for baby

I read somewhere that you should not feed an infant honey, which I won't do. I'm breastfeeding my baby, would my eating honey affect her? I'm a bit paranoid.

Old 11-23-2003, 04:09 AM   #2

SweetTemptation HB User
Re: Honey is bad for baby

I work as a nanny for 5 week old twins, along with the mother there all day. We put honey on their pacificers to get them to accept it. The mother asked the doctor about it, if it was unhealthy. There is a specific problem that honey can cause but I cant remember the name of it. The Dr. said tha chanced of honey being harmful are VERY slim, so the mother continues to put honey on their pacifiers. If we are feeding them honey directly, I dont see how YOU eating honey would affect your breastmilk enough that you should worry. I would suggest asking your doctor.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-24-2003, 10:01 AM   #3

Chayce's mom HB User

It's perfectly safe for a pregnant woman to eat honey, though it should not be fed to children under age 1 because it may contain the deadly bacterium Chlostridium botulinum. When they grow in contaminated foods or inside the digestive tract of a young child, they can produce a toxin that causes botulism, a rare but sometimes deadly disease.

I would assume since pregnant women can eat honey nursing mothers can too.

Old 11-24-2003, 11:34 PM   #4
Veteran
(female)

Meg28 HB User

The same thing goes for corn syrup.

Old 03-11-2004, 01:36 AM   #5
Inactive

MadSkillzGal HB User