It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Children's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2004, 06:58 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

Hope2Heal HB User
5 year old severe bloody nose

HI there

I am a teacher and recently a child in my class had a nosebleed for no apparant reason . He was sitting when it happened and was not picking it. It was severe. There was blood everywhere. I am trained in first aid so knew what to do, but i was disturbed by how much blood he lost. I would estimate about 1/2 -cup of blood total. It poured from his nose like a waterfall and we could not stop it. It bled nonstop for 30 minutes. The parents came and said he had only one nosebleed ever and that was a few days before. Since the incident he has had 2 more(at home) but not as severe. Is this normal?

thanks

Old 01-20-2004, 09:39 PM   #2
Senior Veteran

maybe helpful HB User
Re: 5 year old severe bloody nose

My daughter had HORRIBLE nosebleeds for a year, when she was about 4. They always seemed to come in groups, so I just figured that once it was injured, it was re-opening and bleeding again, even if all she did was bump it or rub it. Hers came up all of a sudden like that too.

However, after the year went by, and she had several in a week, I took her to the pediatrician, who IMMEDIATLEY had her blood drawn. She said, as I still remember "Its probably nothing, dry air, irritation, hormones, BUT lets just be safe". They tested her for lekuemia, as her Doc. said its a common sign.

Thank goodness she was fine, and eventually the nosebleeds stopped. Shes 7 now and only gets one or two a year.

Good luck to you, and this little boy!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-21-2004, 04:16 AM   #3
Senior Veteran

Bruce HB User

You can easily start a nosebleed by inserting a finger or device into the nose, traumatizing the mucosa.