It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Children's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2005, 11:27 AM   #1
(female)

happie4 HB User
8 yr. old w/reflux and heartburn??

My 8 year old son has been complaining of heartburn and reflux for about 6 weeks now. We went through a bottle and a half of mylanta and now he's been on prevacid for about 5 days and still no change. He has it basically all day no matter what he eats, he even wakes up with it. He goes for an ultrasound and upper gi next week. He also complains that his breathing bothers him 2 or 3 times a day. Just wondering if anyone else has been through this. This just started out of the blue! He never had a problem with any of this before. Would appreciate any comments! Thanks!

Old 08-17-2005, 12:13 PM   #2
(female)

BYHOPE1113 HB User
Re: 8 yr. old w/reflux and heartburn??

I'm not a doctor, just a mother of two kids with Asthma, one mild, one moderate - severe, so the first thing that pops into my mind is:

Do you have a family history of Asthma?

My youngest daughter has moderate to severe asthma and acid reflux definately can trigger her asthma attacks as well as other things.

I'd recommend asking your doctor about it, especially if you have a family history of asthma.

My Family members with Asthma:

Daughter #1 - mild
Daughter #2 - moderate to severe
Mother-in-law - moderate to severe
Brother-In-law - moderate to severe

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-17-2005, 07:10 PM   #3
(female)

happie4 HB User

We do have a family history of asthma. Dr. said he had reactive airway when he was about 6 mo. old. He's just never had a problem unless he was sick with a cold, it would always go to his chest. As he's gotten older it has seemed to be less and less though. We tried the nebulizer for this and it didn't help. I'll speak to Dr. about the asthma. Thanks for your reply!

Old 08-18-2005, 06:57 AM   #4