It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Chronic Fatigue Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2007, 07:40 PM   #1
(female)

softerthanrain HB User
possible cfs?

hi everyone! my name's hayley and i am an 18 year old student. i've been suffering from some pretty strange symptoms that my mom (who was an ER nurse for 20 years) believes might be contributed to CFS.

back in november, i experienced extremely painful tonsillitis. the symptoms were not relieved with three rounds of antibiotics and the only thing that made the swelling go remotely down was being placed on steroids (went through three rounds of those as well). i was in the hospital the night i came home for winter break because the lymph nodes in my neck and torso area swelled up really bad to the point where they were really painful to the touch.

i then saw an ent because the size of my tonsills was more than i could handle on a daily basis. he immeadiately believed i had mono and had bloodwork done. i came back negative for mono, but bloodwork came back strange. my lymphocytes were low and my neutrophils were high. i also had a sed rate done, which was high (53). the ent told me to see either a rhumatologist or an infectious disease doctor. so, i'm making an appointment with an internist very soon if some of my symptoms do not fade.

since being back at school, the swelling in my tonsills has gone down signifigantly, but i still have off and on headaches that are very strange and random (mind you, i never suffered from headaches in my life and now they're almost three times a day, sometimes five). i used to be able to stay up into all hours of the night and wake up fine with two hours of sleep. i'm finding myself extremely groggy upon waking and just out of it all day. walking back from class is exhausting when it never had been before.