It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Chronic Fatigue Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2007, 01:20 PM   #1
(female)

dalmatinka HB User
What does ATP test mean?

Can someone please help me understand about ATP test and what does it mean? I am new to CFS and I don't even believe that CFS is my problem.

I have hypothyroidism and low iron for years now. In the beginning of my thyroid therapy I started having negative reactions to meds including my thyroid meds and iron supplement. I became intolerant to right dose and I am taking lower dose then what I would otherwise need.

Years had passed and I still don't have a good doctor who is willing to listen and understand my problem, and try to find the reason to why I can't tolerate thyroid meds.

I believe that how I feel is due to low thyroid function and low iron and not CFS.

I recently went to another doctor who tested me for ATP (Adenosine Triphosphate). My results came back low at 22. Doctor said she is aiming for at least 30, and she wants me on ATP pills (if I understood her correctly) for two months. She says I have CFS.

I would appreciate any info on CFS, how is treated and diagnosed, and what is ATP?

Thank you very much!

Old 05-27-2007, 04:55 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

music12 HB User
Re: What does ATP test mean?

I believe ATP measures the energy level in the cells.

You should be able to control your thyroid so that those symptoms abate. Have you tried Armour? I could not tolerate any of the synthetic meds but Armour works great and docs will prescribe for it if you ask. Also, you might want to check out the Thyroid board here if haven't already.

If you have low iron that would certainly show up on a blood test and you could then easily supplement. I like Ferrofood, which is a natural supplement.