It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Chronic Pain Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2009, 08:41 AM   #1
(male)

ABlueMenace HB User
Chronic pain - Frustration

Hi - I am new to this. I am a 46 year old, married for 20 years and a father of 3 teenagers. My wife works, and we have health insurance. It is costly and we struggle financially.

About 9 years ago my left pinkie finger began twitching involuntarily at odd times. Doctor visits and an MRI revealed a lesion directly impacting pressure on my spinal cord, in the neck, about C5. I was rushed to a neurosurgeon and operated on within the week. It was a dangerous and intensive operation requiring the slicing of many layers of tissue, muscle, and the removal of certain portions of the spine deemed unnecessary. Within a few months the scar tissue had built up to the extent that another operation was scheduled to remove it. While in there, the neck was fused at the C4, C5, C6 area. I was left with chronic pain.

In constant pain and unable to reliably work, I applied for disability from Social Security. (a nightmare) I had to get a lawyer, see many "experts" all to confirm the obvious. Finally, following a hearing and over 3 years waiting, I was confirmed as qualified for Disability.

I tried spinal injections, but the area was simply too narrow and the Doctor advised against this approach. I was put on Morphine (MS Contin)

I am very frustrated. The tolerance to morphine has escalated every year. I take 2700 mg of M.S.I.R. monthly, and 200 mg of MS Contin every day. I have asked and asked and asked my doctor to alter the morphine to ANY of the other compatible medications. He refuses.