It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Chronic Pain Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2009, 01:06 PM   #1
(male)

ermitch HB User
Question Im in recovery for Alcohol and mairjuana, I have a Pain Management Doctor

It seems that once you tell them yes I use to abuse alcohol, but no longer they think I will abuse pain meds. I am a 33yr old disabled veteran I had a hip replacement 3yrs ago and have been on pain meds for about that long. Every time I go to the doctors office any time I ask about changing my pain meds they give me a hard time, I put myself in a Rehab program for alcohol and weed 6mo ago been sober since but I have chronic pain issues and need to take pain meds for my neck and back. I want them to change my pain meds but i think they will tell me no. I also seek treatment at the VA and in the private sector what should I do. I also give them random Urine screens when asked and never refuse I do not have the urge to drink or smoke pot but once you admit you have a problem it haunts you for every. I am know on 30mg morphine 3x times daily for long acting which I would like to switch to oxycotin because i take 5mg oxycodone for breakthru pain which works great.

Old 08-24-2009, 02:57 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

brianpain33 HB Userbrianpain33 HB User
Re: Im in recovery for Alcohol and mairjuana, I have a Pain Management Doctor

I have been in a similar situation as you. I am in recovery and am a recovering drug addict. Once I got clean, I went to a pain management doctor and he would not prescribe me anything stronger than Ultram(tramadol). I hated the way that it made me feel and he was prescribing me the max that he could. I asked for something to treat my pain better and he kept telling me no and made me see an addictionologist (a person that specializes in treating people with addiction and other medical issues).