It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Chronic Pain Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2010, 11:52 AM   #1
(female)

patsy51 HB User
left arm pain

I have had pain in my left arm, started in shoulder area, since months ago & it's now through to my hand at times. when i move it quickly or reach & stretch without thinking, it feels like it's become disslocated. it wakes me in the night if i turn on it.

Old 08-12-2010, 06:04 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

sammyo1 HB Usersammyo1 HB Usersammyo1 HB Usersammyo1 HB Usersammyo1 HB Usersammyo1 HB User
Re: left arm pain

I'll give it a shot here, although I'm no doctor but sure have been a patient for longer then I care to admitt.

I had both shoulder & cervical problems at the same time & surgery for both. The cervical can cause shoulder, arm & hand pain & you do not have to have neck pain.

Both can cause a huge amount of pain. I remember at one time describing my pain just as you have. I had tendonitis, bursitis & arthritis along with C 5-6 herniation in my neck. Cervical problems can cause pain, tingling, numbness, burning in the arm, fingers & hand along with pain in other areas such as the shoulder, neck, upper back, & so on....
Its something I would advise you not let go if it continues. The pain can get pretty bad.

You might want to journal when it started, what triggers the pain, if anything gives you relief & so on...That can help a doctor determine where it may be coming from. Pay attention & see if moving your neck makes a difference. With some it does with others it don't.
For example lifting causes my pain to go up big time & sometimes it does not occur right away but it does occur. Ice usually helps me more so then heat. Some use ice, some heat, some both.
There may be other causes not sure.
Hope this helps you out some & good luck. Sammy

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-12-2010, 12:54 PM   #3
Facilitator