It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Chronic Pain Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2011, 03:44 PM   #1
(female)

hbp82 HB User
Norco vs .25 mcg Fentanyl

Hi folks! First and foremost I should say hello as I'm a newbie! I hope all are well here, and I hope I can answer questions as well as ask, since I've had my injury since 1990 and I've gone through quite a bit to get where I am. (34 surgeries and yes, even medical history was written about my particular case)

I've always been afraid of pain medicine addiction so I've been hesitant to move up from Norco to any other "harder" pill like oxycontin, etc... plus I'm allergic to Morphine and Dilaudid.

Well, after 21 years my doc finally convinced me to try a Fentanyl patch (.25 mcg) rather than taking up to 10 or so Norcos a day) I absolutely hated Vicodin either regular or ES because it made me REALLY crabby and really jumpy and I startled easily and chewed out anybody nearby who startled me. (great, what a joy to be near, huh?) My doc wanted to do a spinal implant of one of those nerve impulse machines that makes my brain think my body isn't in pain when it really is, but I figured Murphy's Law would let my 35th and final surgery finally be the one to paralyze me and I said NO WAY on that one!!!

Anyhow, I was afraid of Fentanyl because I didn't realize how I would react to it and I didn't know if I'd be able to function on a normal level on a daily basis, because I do have a job and I do have to be able to manage daily as I'm also a mom.

Well, I put my patch on my shoulder last night around 6'ish and for the first time in my life since my accident in 1990, I woke up this morning with only moderate pain in my leg and didn't feel the need to choke down pain meds in order to walk. I was amazed, and still am!