It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Codependency Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2011, 07:04 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

Will I Be Happy HB UserWill I Be Happy HB UserWill I Be Happy HB UserWill I Be Happy HB UserWill I Be Happy HB User
Moving Forward...Baby Steps

As a teacher I usually teach summer school but it was cut from the budget. So I was off ALL summer. As someone who suffers from depression, I don't do well with too much time on my hands at all. I think way too much. I will say I held it together this summer but it was a roller coaster emotionally. One day I'm ok, the next I'm a crying, anxious, depressed mess.

I tried my best to keep busy this summer but spent a lot of time with self thought. I will do my best to sum up many issues/emotions without making this a novel. I've suffered from depression since my teens. Maybe it was maturity or timing but within the last year with my new therapist, I've made great breakthroughs. My issues are completely surrounded by my family. I love them more than anything but they unintentionally are the reason for my issues. Growing up my brother had a very bad temper. My mom didn't have a great mother, so she just wanted peace and no fighthing. So whenever my brother flew off the handle, she enabled him and gave him what he wanted. Dad didn't do much to stop it either. I in turn, seeing the pain it caused my parents, took on the role of "Ms. Fix-It." I became everyone's go to person. I only realized in the last year that that caused me not to live my life for me. I missed so many opportunities. Never took risks b/c my brother took all risks and made so many mistakes that I became Little Ms. Perfect. I didn't want to disappoint my parents.