It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Codependency Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2011, 03:08 PM   #1
(female)

Luvd1 HB User
No Trust

I am over 40 years old and I feel like I trust no one. If we met you'd probably think I am pretty normal, maybe even successful..... on the surface. I am a high school teacher, mother of 3 amazingly happy children, and a wife(for now anyways).

I am in such emotional pain all the time that I cannot function in the world. I wonder again and again what my problem is. On the surface things are okay, not perfect or great, but okay. But I self destruct my normal life fairly often and I feel I have NO SUPPORT system at all- even though I have people around me all the time. My marriage is a different story, as I find him to be very cold toward me and even cruel and hurtful at times.

Here's my root pain: My Mother did not supply me with affection/attention as a little girl. She is always too busy taking care of everyone else- the neighbor, the "new" family member (we've had a new aunt and sister in the last 5 years).... just everyone....other than her own daughter. It is crazy that my Mother has NO BOUNDRIES. She has 6 children, 3 step children, takes care of a "new" aunt, allowed a "new" sister to join the last birthday my sister (died of cancer), watches neighbor's children, cares for the elderly & sickly and so much more you would not even believe it. Oh Yeah- my Mother is 65 years old and raising 5 children under the age of 12!

I suffer extreme emotional neglect. I feel SO EMOTIONAL needy I can hardly breath. I see other people with their Mom's decorating their classrooms (I am a teacher) and I am angry. I feel emotionally barren. I don't trust anyone and it is a MAJOR problem in my life.