It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Codependency Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2012, 09:42 AM   #1
(male)

RunnerDO2be HB User
Thinking This is the beginning of Codependency(long winded post)

Hello All,

This is my first post on this forum, but I've been reading for a few days. I'll just introduce myself. I'm 22 (almost 23 years old). I graduated from George Mason University in 2011 with a degree in Biology. I'm currently in the process of applying for medical school. I'm an Alcoholic in AA with almost 5 months sober.

Anyways, I sort of have a history of exposure to codependent behavior. My mom is self-diagnosed as codependent, primarily through taking care of my dad who had Cancer of his Kidneys, Bladder, Prostate and Skin. He received a kidney transplant 2 years ago, and his health has improved significantly, but he still takes no interest in his health. He continues to smoke, which all of his Doctors told him was extremely likely to have caused his cancer in the first place. The is no legitimate medical reason that he is unable to take care of himself at this point, but refuses to get off the couch and help around the house, or do anything that may benefit himself or others. My aunt has poor money management skills, and my mom finds herself helping her out quite often. Anyways, that's just a background story.

Now about me. I'm gay and have been dating this guy for about six months. He is studying to be a nurse and living in the Richmond, VA area nearby (but separately from me).