It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cosmetic / Plastic Surgery Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2008, 08:22 AM   #1
(female)

kaynfla HB User
Question Right eyebrow and forehead paralyzed after brow lift

Hi. I'm new to this discussion board, and have learned a lot from reading various postings. I'm in a decision making period regarding a PS procedure gone wrong, and am hoping that I might be able to get some feedback regarding my situation that might help me make a more informed decision. In any case, thank you for reading my post. A year has passed since I underwent a facelift, brow lift and had a lower eye lid procedure. I've had several major medical surgeries, but never expected the pain and discomfort that I had after these procedures. My bruising and swelling lasted for months, but as the swelling subsided I noticed that everything seemed to be in proper working order with the exception of my right eye brow and forehead. My PS said it sometime takes up to two years for the nerves to regenerate so I had high hopes that I would look normal again. However, a year later I have a right eye that appears smaller than the left eye due to the drooping of the right eye lid. My right eyebrow is noticeably lower than my left eyebrow due to my forehead muscle on that side being paralyzed and I have two indentations on each side of that muscle. Any form of facial expression makes it obvious that only half of my forehead is working so I keep my hair pulled down as much as possible. I've also become so uncomfortable that I no longer make eye contact with people; by keeping my gaze and head down it makes my problem less noticeable. I saw my PS a couple of days ago, and he now says my chances of the nerves returning to normal are less than 20%. He suggested Botox. I replied that Botox would only be a temporary fix, and asked for options. He said that he could do a hal