It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Crohn's Disease / Ulcerative Colitis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2008, 12:56 PM   #1
(female)

whatthescrap HB User
Crohns Disease - My story...

This site has been so helpful in helping me understand that even though I am new to all of this....I am certainly not alone!

First, I am female, 36 years old.

About 4 or 5 years ago I started losing alot of weight pretty rapidly. Diarreah has always been around, about 5-7 times a day, but I never knew that it was a "problem". People would tell me I "looked sick" or would ask if I was anemic. I could only eat small portions at a time (like a kids meal) several times a day.

In October 2006, 3 months after my fourth child was born, I became very ill. Unbelievably painful cramping in my lower abdomen on the right side. I was hunched over in bed for about 8 hours. I thought, Im just constipated, it will pass. Then the nausea started...not long after, the vomiting began.....and would not stop. When my husband came home from work, he rushed me to the er.

The next 10 hours consisted of x-rays, ct scans, lots of bloodwork, and finally being admitted for being "very ill". I was confused....I was just constipated.... After 3 days, I was released with prescripts for flagyl, cipro and prednisone and instructions to see a GI.

My GI appointment was two weeks later. It was a simple..."this could be a number of things that are going on..." (no real explanation) "start taking pepcid ac once a day, an outrageous amount of Pentasa and start tapering off the prednisone".