It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Crohn's Disease / Ulcerative Colitis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2012, 05:59 AM   #1
(female)

geezy HB User
Ibd

Hi everyone, I am new to this blog. I am a 36 yr old mother of three boys. Since April I have been experiencing diarrhea, nausea & adbominal pain. The nausea is the type of nausea associated with morning sickness. I had a total hysterctomy in 2007 so pregnancy is not an option. I had a colonoscopy two weeks ago that came back normal. My GI mentioned Crohns but said because the colonoscopy & biopsy came back normal she ruled it out. Then she ordered some blood work. I was prescribed Zotran, Nexium, Flagyl, & Cipro. I had an emergency room visit where a catscan was done using an IV and it showed mild thickening, a hiatal hernia, multiple nodes & was told to get a small bowel series. My dr just ordered blood work. Is it safe to say that Crohn's have been ruled out. Waking up to this feeling is miserable every morning & after I eat is the same thing. Any info is much appreciated.

Old 09-06-2012, 12:46 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

quincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB User
Re: Ibd

Hi..Crohn's can be happen anywhere in the digestive tract from mouth to anus...so I'd say it's not ruled out at this point. The doc ruled it out in your colon, however.

Where exactly was the thickening?

Are there plans to have the hiatal hernia repaired?

Did the doc have you do stool samples? and what's the reason she put you on the two antibiotics?

You definitely need to have a small bowel series, maybe be checked for celiac as well.

Dealing with and diagnosing digestive disorders can be a long process, unfortunately much is process of elimination.