It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Crohn's Disease / Ulcerative Colitis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2013, 04:20 AM   #1
(male)

DIAL HB User
New to this section,was just diagnosed with colitis

hello,

I am not new to this forum, but I am new to this section.
I am a disabled cop, and have been battling chronic health issues for 5 years.

I was just diagnosed with colitis. after some rectal bleeding and discomfort, I had a colonoscopy and the report came back with moderate colon inflammation. They took several biopsies, but told me they came back negative for both Ulcer colitis and crohn's. Now I am confused. I keep reading colitis is one or the other, but so far I seem to be in a grey zone with neither?

I have mucus, blood, bloating, gas, cramping, and worse of all, I get these spastic colon attacks where diarrhea comes on strong, causing me to strain uncontrollably, sometimes for hours. This has caused me to tear and get a fissure, along with a hemmroid. I am in a ton of pain. I can't even leave the house and run errands much.

I am going to try Asocal and Rewasa ( think that's what it is called) but I am nervous about the drugs. I never react well to medication ever since I have been chronically ill.

anyone have any advice or input for me?
thanks

Old 04-04-2013, 10:24 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

quincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB User
Re: New to this section,was just diagnosed with colitis

Hi...colitis is a general term for colon inflammation. nothing more.
Biopsies don't state a diagnosis, just that they're consistent with whatever.

Did you have stool samples done as well?

Do you have a copy of your pathology results? if yes...would you mind to state the findings?