It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cystic Fibrosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2007, 04:40 PM   #1
(female)

sapp82grl HB User
Need help...don't want to carry around an oxygen tank

Hi, this is my first time on the message board. I have a close friend with CF. He is 26 and has had to be in the hospital 3 times within the past year to receive antibiotics through a PICC line. This last time his doctor put him on oxygen because his o2 test was 84/85. From the way his doctor makes it sound he may always have to be on oxygen from now on. He hasn't always been real good about taking all the medications he should and using his nebulizer every day but now is very determined to make things better. My question is, is there any hope to get his oxygen levels up without having to carry around a tank for the rest of his life? He definitely needs to gain weight and is going to try and eat around 4000 calories a day. Is there anything else that can be done? Does anyone have any stories of someone who has been at this point and made some kind of recovery?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-26-2007, 12:59 PM   #2
(female)

mmarie76 HB User
Re: Need help...don't want to carry around an oxygen tank

Hi,
This is my first time posting and I'm new to the site. I wanted to try to help you with your question. For your friend to gain weight, I'd recommend getting a feeding tube or G-button. I'm 31 years old and when I was about 15 or 16 I weighed 75 lbs. My doctors finally convinced me to get a G-button and I gained 20 lbs in a short amount of time. It's really hard to eat that many calories, I found that, because I had so much trouble with my breathing, I'd wear myself out and wouldn't be very hungry.