It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cystic Fibrosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2011, 07:39 PM   #1
(female)

Kiddos123 HB User
Sleepless in Maryland...help!

I have a 2 1/2 year old beautiful boy who since about 6 months of age has been somewhat of a medical mystery to us all. I'm a nurse so I'm very knowledgeable about my childrens health, or so I thought. My little guy started falling off the growth chart at around 6 months right at the time we were moving to a new town. A new peditrician sounded the alarm bells doing a myriad of tests, and found an abnormal phosphorous level and slight low PH in the blood. We had a consult at Johns Hopkins and renal tubular acidosis was ruled out. Most other labs were normal so we were eventually referred to a Pediatric Endocriniologist who tested him for growth hormone difiiciency(normal) and other endocrine disorders. His gluten test (although I don't know what immunoglobins were tested) was normal.

This past winter, he was in nursery school for the first time (he also has an older school aged sister and 1 year old sister). He had many colds, with a pretty chronic runny nose and cough. Everytime he had a cold,the drainage went straight to his ears and he required abx for ear infections. All of this quite frankly did not seem too out of place having had an older child who fought through all the bugs as she entered class with other kids. He has never been an eater, much unlike my other two kids. He continued not to be a big eater but preferring to drink milk, almost exclusive of eating. A bite here, and there, but not much else. He is still trending in the 5% although he started for the 1st 6 months in the 50-75%. The good news is he is not falling off the chart but trending stably since 6 months.