It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Death & Dying Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2005, 12:34 AM   #1
(female)

plutox6 HB User
hard time dealing with 3 losses in less than a year

hi there. i am new to these kind of things but i am really having a hard time sifting through things. the short of it is that from august of 2004 to now i have lost my grandmother (77yo), my mother (54yo) , and now my father (57yo). and to top it all off i haven't even reached 30. sure, i knew things would happen but i never phathomed it would be sooner than later.

everything started to fall apart last june. my father contracted west nile virus in arizona and ended up in the hospital for 2 months. he nearly died and had encephalitis from the disease. his short term memory never fully recovered and the weakness, among other things, left him unable to care for himself. he also had history of strokes, diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease. i had to place him in a private group home (my parents divorced in 2000 after 29 years of marriage and growing up together as children) 2000 miles away from all of us.

well after i got back from dealing with his struggle, i had to travel north to my mother's house in july for her to have exploratory sx. while she was in sx they discovered that the cancer had returned 5 years after being in remission, and it came back with a vengence. her bowels were severly matted together and there was no way to even dissect any out. so, they basically closed her back up and felt chemo was the only chance.

well, upon leaving the hospital i discovered that my grandmother, my father's mother, was a floor below my mother. she was declining rapidly due to what they discovered to be pancreatic cancer. so, i spent some time there with her and my aunt before leaving the hospital.