It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Death & Dying Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2011, 08:59 PM   #1
(female)

iyinc HB User
My ex-husband killed himself 3 weeks ago, I need HELP!

This is my first time posting on a thread or a board, or whatever it's called, but I'm desperate for someone who may understand what I'm going through. My ex-husband was a severe alcoholic, needed a medical detox every time. He was in treatment 4 times and his dr. gave him meds to self-detox at home as well. In Nov of 2009, I found he'd taken 111 vicodin in 9 days, plus ambien and klonopin. We were together for 18 years and I'd dealt with it the entire time, but our kids were getting older (they are now 8 and 11), so I told him I needed a divorce because I didn't want them waking up to find him dead.

The divorce was ugly and he lied to his family about the reason for it. He called me in Sept of this year drunk and suicidal. I drove him to tx and the kids and I visited every weekend. His mother and sister were mean to him, his mom told him not to come home for his birthday, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's, so we had him over for the holidays.

He relapsed again about 4 weeks ago, and I texted him to say he needed to call his sponsor. The last contact we had with him was that Friday, when he and our daughter spoke. By Sunday, he still wasn't returning phone calls and I was getting worried so I went to his apartment. He was dead. It was horrible. The kids don't know what really happened, I just tell them I don't know why Daddy died. My son is so ANGRY and my daughter just holds it in. I have such guilt for not seeing how badly he felt (no job, mom and sis were horrible, kicked out of school for relapsing, divorce, etc).