It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2003, 10:12 PM   #1
(female)

whispergrrl HB User
earache from abcessed tooth

Hi. I am new to these boards, but after reading quite a bit on here, I hope to get some guidance....

First off....I will admit that I am a dental phobic. It has been a LONG time since I have been to a dentist. My teeth are in very bad shape now, and I realize that I need to have something done.

However, I will not be able to get to a dentist for at least another week.

In the meantime, I am in horrible pain. One of my bottom molars is half broken away because of cavity, and I believe I have an abscess next to it. It is a bump that hurts, and has some pus coming out of it at times. This makes my whole right side of my face hurt something fierce! During the daytime, I don't seem to have many problems, but at night....when I want to go to bed....it flares up again. I pop advil....but that doesn't seem to do anything anymore.

So, I try swishing with water.....which used to help with the pain, but not so much now. I also try hot washcloths on that side of my face...but that doesn't alleviate the pain either.

Now, the pain from the tooth seems to have made my ear ache. I can't figure out a single thing to alleviate this pain on my own in order to sleep now! I am desperate to see if anyone has suggestions in the space between now and whenever I can get in to see a dentist?!

Also...does anyone know why the pain seems to come at night? It isn't even just when I lay down....it is is just around the time I want to sleep....and boom...excrutiating pain!

I have spent many a night rocking myself in bed crying....begging God to take the pain away.....I just don't know what to do with myself!