It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2004, 04:55 AM   #1

Monkey2 HB User
Replacing Fillings

Hi,

I have been advised to have my mercury fillings replaced.

I have subsequently read that this isn't a good idea as it may cause mercury to be leaked into the bloodstream.

I have one massive filling that takes up most of one tooth which I have told needs a crown - will removing this tooth also cause mercury leaking?

I really do not want to go through the pain of having these fillings replaced if there is an addition risk with mercury.

Are there any dental experts who could give me any advise please.
Thanks

Old 01-12-2004, 10:36 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

junglemonkey HB User
Re: Replacing Fillings

I'm by no means a dental expert but if you keep the mercury fillings in your mouth you will still be subjected to mercury seeping out over the years. As long as the dentist is careful, there shouldn't be too much of a problem with mercury exposure and you are probably better off in the long run. What are they replacing the amalgam fillings with?

I really wish I had asked for composite fillings instead of mercury now actually.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-13-2004, 02:11 AM   #3

Monkey2 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by junglemonkey
I'm by no means a dental expert but if you keep the mercury fillings in your mouth you will still be subjected to mercury seeping out over the years. As long as the dentist is careful, there shouldn't be too much of a problem with mercury exposure and you are probably better off in the long run. What are they replacing the amalgam fillings with?

I really wish I had asked for composite fillings instead of mercury now actually.
Many thanks for your reply.

My dentist just said he would replace them with white fillings - he wasn't specific about what sort.