It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2004, 12:45 PM   #1

SnJmom HB User
Smile Need Advise please

HI , i am new to board and was just wondering if anyone can tell me what i am in for, I went today and got impressions for my dentures and i am going back the 22nd to have teethe pulled and they will place my immediate denture, (I beleive thats what it is called) Can yall tell me what i am in for, What i need to exspect, I would like to hear good and bad. I am so nervous about this, I know i am doing the right thing, But I have so many mixed emotions about it, I will be so happy to be able to smile again, and have pretty teethe, I think it will help my over all appearence. Thanks so much for your time in advance , I will be waitting for replys, Thanks.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-13-2004, 12:53 PM   #2
(female)

db2kp HB User
Re: Need Advise please

SnJmom,

Are you getting an upper and lower denture?

I've seen many people have upper teeth extracted and have an immediate denture placed. You cannot remove the immediate denture until you go back to see the dentist, because you won't be able to get it back in due to some swelling. It is like a bandage over your stitches.

As for removing lower teeth...if you're having them all removed, I highly advise that you don't. Lower dentures "float". They don't have anything to hold onto, and there's not much suction. Some people do well with them, but it takes some getting used to.

Let me know...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-13-2004, 01:08 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

Sandybeech HB UserSandybeech HB UserSandybeech HB UserSandybeech HB User