It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2004, 08:49 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

Laura B HB User
Take care of lower partial?

Six weeks ago I got my lower partial. I'm happy to say I have no problems with it. I do take it out for the night, brush it with toothpaste and soak it with a tablet of Efferdent. The instruction on the box is "remove after 15 minutes" further it says "may be soaked overnight." I called my dentist and ask what the best way is, soak or not soak all night. His answer was "what ever you feel comfortable with it." ????

I would like to know from people with dentures what they do. What the better way is for the dentures. I was wondering that if I leave them in water all night that something may "melt." I was also wondering if you actually use regular toothpase on a denture. This is my first partial, so I'm new at that.
thank you.

Old 01-19-2004, 06:49 PM   #2
(female)

db2kp HB User
Re: Take care of lower partial?

I'm no authority on this but having worked in a dental office for 17yrs, old tell you my experiences.
Every patient with a partial or a denture was told that if it's not in your mouth it should be kept damp.
Also, the dentist that I worked for that taught at Pitt Dental told his patients to take their dentures/partials out at night. He'd say; they're like your shoes, you don't go to bed with them on. Let your gums breathe. The other dentist that I worked for didn't care what his patient's did. That's what makes it difficult, since they each have a different opinion.
My mom and dad left their partials in an efferdent solution all night every night and they never had any problems.

Good luck,
db

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-20-2004, 04:33 PM   #3

Yos HB User

Hi Laura,