It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2004, 11:08 AM   #1
(female)

Kimberly HB User
7 Fillings, Wisdom Teeth Extraction

Hello everyone,

I am new to the Dental section of Healthboards and hope someone may be kind enough to answer a few questions I have.

I'm 25 years old and a mother of a beautiful 18 month old girl. When I was 5 years old I had an accident where I banged my mouth into monkey-bars at the playground and made my teeth go all crooked. My mother and father took me to a dentist to have this repaired, but I had a very horrible experience. I remember being terrified, and the dentist was very cruel. On one particular visit he yanked on my mouth and told me to "Stop being such a whiney little baby". I told him I wanted my mother and his words were "Your mother isn't ALLOWED in here." My mom was outside the office door and heard me crying so she also heard what he said. Needless to say she marched right in there, took me out of the dentist's seat and proceeded to tell him where to go. After that day, my parents were NEVER able to get me to see a dentist again.

When I hit 15 I started feeling very self conscious about my teeth and really wanted to have them fixed yet I was terrified from my experience as a child. My parents didn't have dental insurance at the time so I knew it would be very expensive so I didn't ask to go.