It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2004, 07:11 PM   #1

alessia HB User
Question receding gums

Hi, this is my first time posting. I was wondering if anyone reading has had their receding gums treated with allograft. My dentist strongly urged me to have this done. I am very concerned about cost and recovery.
How much did it cost per tooth for you? How long did you have a dressing in your mouth? Was it painful? As you can tell, I'm a bit apprehensive about this!

Old 02-18-2004, 11:06 AM   #2

alessia HB User
Re: receding gums

nobody?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-22-2004, 06:50 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

LL29 HB User

I had it done to my top gums since they were receeding. I'm tryin to remember...............hmmmmm...... they take tissue off the roof of your mouth (that was the part I didn't like or was weird) but it wasn't very painful - just groce. The stitches weren't that bad. I did help the one side of my mouth but not the other so I go bk (this was a year ago mind you - I should've went bk sooner) in two weeks to get it smoothed out and see if he can fix it. It does help and if you need it done - I would do it again.

If you have insurance - that can cover the vast part of it. I'd have to pull out my records but I want to say the total cost (over 4 teeth - 2 areas I think) $1600 and I'm in Charlotte, NC (south is cheaper). It all depends if it's right by each other too or in different areas.

Always shop around though - call periodontists and see what their rates are.

Good luck

Laurie

Old 02-25-2004, 08:16 AM   #4

CherFan HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by alessia
nobody?