It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2004, 03:13 AM   #1
sp00ky

eroding teeth?!

Hi all,

Got some concerns about my teeth. I am a student in the final year of university, and I have noticed my teeth getting progressively worse here. I brush my teeth 3 times a day, and have always taken good care of them. But recently my enamel just seems to be wearing away completely, particularly near the gums, making them sensitive. A couple of years a go my dentist said i was brushing too hard, so i got an electric toothbrush and eased up a bit. But still my teeth wear away, and become yellow the longer it is since brushing. And to get rid of the ugly colour, I brush them to make them white again! Vicious circle? How can I remineralise my teeth? I am using flouride mouthwash now but after a few weeks I am noticing no difference. I dont understand whats making them erode. My unhelpful dentist just accused me of being a bullimic/alcoholic. Any ideas my appreciated.

Sp00ky

Old 02-26-2004, 07:03 AM   #2

scarlett_moon HB User
Lightbulb Re: eroding teeth?!

You may have a high PH level in your mouth.Not many have it I have it and after many years of getting my teeth re-enamel I am looking at getting dentures.I mean they look great but one day I went to eat a piece of slice cheese and I had a tooth I had enameled about a year before just break right into.
It may be something you may want to ask you dentist and push the issue its rare but people do have it.

Some tips dont eat food that is hard like hard candy and bite into,dont drink alot of canned soda or herbal teas they are VERY high in PH.
Hope this helps.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-26-2004, 09:55 AM   #3
sp00ky

Re: eroding teeth?!