It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2004, 01:07 PM   #1

Saltwater27 HB User
Question Denture Allergy

I have been wearing full (upper/lower) dentures for 14 months. Had a new set made at 9 months. When in my mouth I have an allergic reaction in the form of bumps inside the lip areas.
When the dentures are out I have a hot/burning sensation in the mouth, and at times my lips will feel dry/stickey. Other times I have the sensation of a very bitter saliva.
I do not wear them to sleep, when I awake and for the first several hours thereafter my mouth feels relatively normal.

A google search did turn up a reference to "Hot Mouth syndrome" relateing to an allergic reaction to the polymers used in the plates.I have been told that all dentures are made of the same basic materials.
My question, is there any known relief for this condition?

Old 05-22-2004, 02:34 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Sandybeech HB UserSandybeech HB UserSandybeech HB UserSandybeech HB User
Re: Denture Allergy

Hi, I had heard that they can make the denture base out of a metal alloy to help those with an allergy to material. I suppose they also use porcelain teeth in the dentures too. I do know some people have a reaction to the material used to reline the dentures. The soft reline stuff has a catalyst in it to make it cure and I suspect if also reacts with saliva.
What has the dentist said he/she can do to help you?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-22-2004, 02:35 PM   #3

Yos HB User

Hi Salt,

Although it's not impossible, I doubt very much that the reaction your mouth is an allergic one to dentures. Dentures are made of an inert material (no active ingredients) using a heat cured process. Being allergic to a denture would be like being allergic to a tea cup or a toothbrush.