It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2004, 03:04 PM   #1
(male)

tigerstyle HB User
Swollen gums and swollen throat

Hi, I have been flossing on and off for about 2 years now. I am 22. I'll go a month flossing then stop for 1 or 2 months then on and off again. I never have problems except the first week or so when I start my floss cycle (gums get swollen a little then get better after a week).

So I started flossing about 7 weeks ago and haven't had any problems until about a few days ago. My left side gums started to get swollen. I thought no problem, it'll just go away like it always does. Nope. It actually spread and now my front teeth's gums are swollen and the pain is oh so bad. I eat chicken and my gums hurt. And if I press up against my jaw line right beneath my teeth ( the place where you would put your fingers to check your pulse) i feel a sort of pain/discomfort. The jawline pain first appeared on my left side, and now both sides have pain.

I know I have gingivitis. And I know I don't have periodontitis. I have a feeling the gum swelling is not caused by the gingivitis. (note=the gum swelling happened first, then I noticed the pain beneath my jawline)

My last resort is to go to the dentist. I was also thinking about taking antibiotics. What do you think?

Old 05-25-2004, 06:26 PM   #2

ysco HB User
Re: Swollen gums and swollen throat

Firstly, your flossing habits are obviously bad. What's the logic in flossing month on month off?! You should floss daily. In the month you do not floss you significantly increase the likelihood a plaque will form between your teeth followed by tartar formation. During these processes the bacteria excrete toxins which harm the gums and the teeth. This is literally how gum diseases start.