It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2005, 09:29 PM   #1
(female)

SweetieBird HB User
Extraction vs. root canal of #18 molar

I am a newbie here but have to make a decision(by October's end) and need to garner information about who to go to for some answers. I have a left lower (#18) molar that has had an old silver filling for 33 years and has cracked my tooth and part of a back cusp has chipped off. Had my regular dentist here try to redo the filling, couldn't as could not numb it enough, we watched it and 3 months later in September noticed it looked different, xrayed and said it may need a root canal. Hmmm, I HATE going to dentists to begin with. I went to see the endodontist and he said it needed a root canal, they have to bore a hole in my jaw to properly numb it (Oh Gads)and then I will need a crown. After reading a few posts on this board and talking to a few people I wonder if it is not just better, easier, less traumatic, less expensive to just PULL this tooth out and be done with it. I asked the endo if we could just pull it and he stated that we could but the gums and bone structure about the tooth looked good the the tooth was healthy. Now, how healthy can a tooth be when we are going to give it a root canal???

Should I go see oral/facial/max surgeon to see about another opinion? I would hate to have a rc and have problem after problem as I have a very busy life not to mention have had enough trauma with other experiences and want to just live my life and not be going for appointments all the time.

Thank you in advance!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-16-2005, 06:18 AM   #2
(female)

Jovach51 HB User
Re: Extraction vs. root canal of #18 molar

SweetieBird,