It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2002, 10:07 AM   #1

antoni HB User
Post root canal therapy or leave tooth alone

I have an abscessed tooth from a crack(big bottom molar tooth) and the pain seems to be getting a worse a little bit day by day. It doesn't hurt when I chew on it. It's a pain that comes and goes.

Hearing about all the root canal horror stories, I am putting off the root canal till absolutely necessary. I was wondering other peoples experience on how long the tooth may last before it blows completely in excrutiating pain. I've been aware of it for about a year now. Dentists say it could stay like this for a long time others say one day I will wake up and the whole cheek will be swelled up so it';s best to get it taken care of right nowl

I was wondering if anyone else has had this and how long their tooth lasted with this on and off pain before something had to be done.

Old 05-22-2002, 10:54 AM   #2
Inactive

Debbie46 HB User
Hi, Antoni. Why are you putting off getting a root canal done? Did reading the posts here scare you too much? I would not wait too long: if you do, it'll only get worse, and maybe then a root canal won't be able to fix the problem. A crack is a serious problem, depending on what type of crack it is. A root canal might not fix the problem...but it might (hopefully). You want to try and save the tooth. If the root canal fails, then you will at least have tried to save it. Don't worry about getting a root canal...its not a big deal. I've had many root canals done, and they haven't killed me. Get that tooth taken care of; the problem won't go away by itself. Good luck to you...Debbie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-23-2002, 02:50 PM   #3

Subie HB User
Hi Antoni,