It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2006, 07:10 AM   #1
(male)

JSM01 HB User
How are overbites fixed?

What sort of treatment are given to patients with overbites? Bracelets? Splints?
Are dental crowns used sometimes? Is surgery required?

Last edited by JSM01; 10-24-2006 at 10:49 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-24-2006, 05:25 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Thelma-Louise HB UserThelma-Louise HB UserThelma-Louise HB User
Re: How are overbites fixed?

Although I am not an expert - I believe braces or orthodontia is the traditional and conservative method to correct an overbite whether that be the standard railroad track metal braces, the plastic ones or the newer invisiline which are removable and look a lot like splints. A lot depends on the depth of the overbite, the position of the lower jaw and the location of your tm joints. I have never heard of crowns correcting an overbite and surgery to move the lower jaw forward is extreme - I would only do it if the overbite was that extreme and causing other problems or could not be corrected with some form of orthodontia or FJO.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2006, 09:02 PM   #3
(male)

JSM01 HB User

When I close my mouth the lower front teeth is 3-4milimetres behind the upper front teeth. Would that be considered extreme or mild?

I'm going to the dentist on tuesday to have it checked out and corrected. What kind of treatment should I expect?

Old 10-30-2006, 11:54 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)