It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2011, 06:32 AM   #1
(female)

JawPains HB User
Jaw Pain After Wisdom Tooth Extraction

I had all 4 wisdom teeth extracted under general anesthesia on Friday. They were all impacted and had not surfaced through the gums. When I got home on Friday all I wanted to do was sleep. On Saturday I was pretty sore and VERY swollen but the pain was very manageable with the pain meds. On Sunday, as I was told, the swelling reached it's peak but again the pain was nothing that the medications couldn't control. I am an elementary school teacher so I took Monday off from work. I have been doing warm salt water rinses throughout the day and rinsing with the rx rinse three times a day.

Everything seems to be healing fine EXCEPT for the fact that I cannot open my mouth without having a horrible pain in my jaw. I can get it open wide enough to fit one finger in between my top and bottom row of teeth. I keep biting the sides of my cheeks and they feel like raw skin at this point. I have called the oral surgeon's office and was told to apply moist heat to the jaw joint, massage it, and push myself to open my jaw a little wider and wider. I spent the whole day trying to do this yesterday and I felt like I was tearing every ligament in my jaw as I tried to open it. This morning when I woke up the pain in my jaw was even worse. I haven't been able to eat anything other than soup, yogurt, and plain ice cream for the last 5 days. Is this normal? I don't feel pain where they took out the teeth...all the pain is coming from my jaw and my cheeks from where I have been accidentally biting them. When can I expect to feel better???

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-09-2011, 07:58 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)