It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2011, 02:31 PM   #1
(female)

clc0230 HB User
Question Dental Abscess: Failed Root Canal

Hi, really need some help to ease my mind.

5 years ago i had a root canal done and a gold crown fitted after my first molar on the left cracked. Randomly 4 days ago i felt pain in that tooth, it got worse through out the night and the next morning i booked an emergency dental appointment for the next day.

Went to the dentist, he did an x-ray said there is a dark shadow which looks like an infection an he put me on antibiotics. (Metronidazole 200mg 1x3 per day). On that same day after taking the 2nd tablet my face started to swell up and the pain got out of hand. i went to the emergency room an was told i have a abscess and that the antibiotics i was put on isn't strong enough to get to the infection so i was put on more antibiotics an a pain killer (Metronidazole 400mg 1x3 per day, Amoxicilin 500mg 1x3per day and co-dydramol 500mg 2x4 per day).

The pain killers have help, the abscess started point an i rubbed it with salt an it drain alot of blood an pus and the swelling has gone down some. However my gum along my jaw still feels hard an im not sure why this is. my initial thought was i reacted to the Metronidazole which has a side effect of facial swelling but the GP said it wasn't that its an abscess.

If the abscess has drain should my jaw be hard or does it still need draining? Will the antibiotics sort it?.... Please Help... Thanks in advance.

Old 12-24-2011, 04:53 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB UserGellia HB User
Re: Dental Abscess: Failed Root Canal

Hi,