It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2012, 02:33 AM   #1
(male)

JB68711 HB User
Got a "Night Guard" for Grinding Teeth

From what I know I've been grinding my teeth for 11 years. Finally got a night guard from my dentist, custom made. Last night I tried it out and within the first minute of laying down, I noticed it was hard not to drool. I ended up taking it out 2 hours into my sleep. It was hard to fall asleep in. Sometimes I get an itch (wherever) while I'm falling asleep, and I'll try not to scratch it until it REALLY bothers me and then I'll move to scratch it. That's kind of like how the night guard was, I was trying to bear with it and fall asleep and then woke up and had enough of it and took it out. Any suggestions? Do I just need to get used to it? Luckily my insurance paid 80% for it, but really I just want my teeth to stay in good shape.

Old 02-03-2012, 12:11 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

rudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB User
Re: Got a "Night Guard" for Grinding Teeth

My adult son had the same issues with the "Night Guard" from the dentist. His was custom made of a hard plastic. He eventually broke it (probably on purpose ) and I bought him a "Doctor's Night Guard" brand. It's a softer material kind of like a football mouthguard but more sturdy. You put it in boiling water and form it. Instructions are included. I think it was about $20 at Walmart or Walgreens. He's used it for about 3 years and it's still going strong. Unfortunately, the drooling is part of having the mouthguard, but it's not as bad as it was with the harder plastic. I think you will get used to it after a while, just like anything else new. Good luck

Sponsors Lightbulb