It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2004, 10:27 AM   #1
(male)

michaelfloyd HB User
A few questions about depression

hi. well here's my story... i graduated from college (savannah college of art and design) almost a year ago with a degree in motion graphics... i enjoy doing it... but i just have no motivation. i feel lazy all the time and all i ever want to do really is just sit around and do nothing. it's very irritating because i really want to finish up my demo reel, find a good job and start my life... but when it comes to just sitting down and doing it... well... i just don't feel like it.

i lose interest in things fast and i have a hard time keeping focused. i feel insecure about myself sometimes and i suffer from anxiety when i'm out in public... it's not so bad if i have a friend with me... but when i'm out shopping by myself or something... i just feel out of place... all i can think about is just getting what i came for and getting back to my car.

i don't have any trouble actually talking to anybody... but i never know what to say if i meet somebody new.

could these be signs of depression? i've never really considered this possibility because i'm not generally sad or anything. can you be suffering from depression but still be happy sometimes? sorry if that sounds naive but i just don't really know anything about this problem. i have fun when i'm out with friends and stuff... but something just doesn't feel right. i feel like i should be getting on with my life but instead i just sit around all day on the internet or something... i just don't have any motivation to do anything. i suppose i'm not really happy with the way my life is going at the moment. i feel like i need to move forward but i can't for some reason. i guess i feel like i'm sort of stuck in a hole and i can't get out.