It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2005, 09:56 AM   #1
(female)

landsknecht HB User
living life free of Efexor XR

Hi I'm a newbie here so hi to all. I've been taking Efexor XR for just over two years now (75mg). I was going through a rough time two years ago and I was unhappy but I got through everything just fine with a few adjustments and without taking any kind of AD at all. I got food poisoning (I think, It was never confirmed though) around this time (just to top things off) and I lost quite a bit of weight. Two weeks later I was getting better, I was resting and eating and just trying to get my physical health back to where it was. Basically after a while I felt really good again. Things had changed, I was happy. The only negative was that I had so much hate for a certain person.

I was enjoying a really nice day down on the beach with my son and my mum when I started to feel really dizzy and weird. I sat down but I started to feel really nauseaus and then I received my first brain click,zap??. Anyway I freaked everyone out and ended up in emergency. After so many tests I was surprised when I was prescribed an antidepressant. To make a long story short this AD has really worked for me but I'm not an unhappy person. I understand the situation concerning brain chemicals etc.

The reason I still take Efexor is because I am terrified of feeling so unreal and weird again. Withdrawl scares me, I was just wondering if anyone has stopped taking Efexor or any other AD and is still completely free and functioning well. The last time I tried to stop I felt exactly the same way I did that day on the beach and people actually thought that I was drunk. Did anyone stop taking Efexor without swapping over to another AD? And for how long did you suffer????? before things became bearable again.