It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2005, 01:55 PM   #1
(female)

batgirl911 HB User
Lexapro vs Effexor

Are there any major differences between Effexor and Lexapro? I started taking Effexor in December and it really hasn't done anything for me. My dr. has now switched me over to Lexapro. I wonder why he didn't rx Lexapro in the beginning. Is Lexapro "better"...or just "different"?

I am new at this. Any btdt advice or thoughts appreciated.

karen

Old 03-10-2005, 03:39 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

SOE HB UserSOE HB UserSOE HB UserSOE HB User
Re: Lexapro vs Effexor

Quote:
Originally Posted by batgirl911
Are there any major differences between Effexor and Lexapro? I started taking Effexor in December and it really hasn't done anything for me. My dr. has now switched me over to Lexapro. I wonder why he didn't rx Lexapro in the beginning. Is Lexapro "better"...or just "different"?

I am new at this. Any btdt advice or thoughts appreciated.

karen
I never took Lexapro so I can't really tell you what the differences are. But personally, I really hated Effexor, so I think you're ahead of the game.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-11-2005, 08:49 AM   #3
(female)

sirena312 HB User

I was on effexor...now I am on wellbutrin and lexapro...so far after a couple of weeks i haven't noticed a change....I also haven't had any problems with th effexor withdrawal...I have tied many combos in the last 21 years!!!I love this board and will keep all posted as I hope my Depreesion changes!igh

Old 03-11-2005, 02:01 PM   #4
Inactive

welshboy HB User

Lexapro worked wonders for me. It is an SSRI, apparently it is the most selective of the SSRI's An SSRI works on increasing the amount of the mood chemical serotonin in your brain by blocking its re-uptake into the synapse.