It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2005, 07:05 PM   #1
(female)

soccer1421 HB User
college depression? or inability to adjust?

hello there...

i'm a new college freshman and although i've never been diagnosed with depression before, i can't help but wonder if i've had it for a long time and only now is it surfacing as a result of the dramatic change i've experienced.

let me explain.

since i've been at school, i've felt nothing but irritable, exhausted, lonely, and completely hopeless. It's not "out of nowhere", by any means. My family and I are close, I love my hometown, my boyfriend is 2 hours away, I miss my friends... My courseload is very difficult, I'm having a lot of trouble finding friends, everyone at this campus gets completely wasted every weekend and honestly, I'm really just not interested in doing that. I've always kind of considered myself as someone who liked being alone and that I didn't "need" anyone...but I'm learning very quickly that perhaps I was wrong. I haven't sleep a whole night yet... I'm always completely exhausted and cranky...when I talk to my boyfriend on the phone he always thinks I'm mad at him... I cry for random reasons (I hit my head on a shelf and burst into tears...not normal for me). But since I was young I've also always believed that I would cope and deal with my problems by myself... that I would never take "the easy way out" by stamping depression as a label for my inability to function. I feel ashamed that I cannot escape my problems (I know I shouldn't and that it's OKAY to be depressed...but I can't help it).