It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2005, 05:07 PM   #1
(female)

Deena_05 HB User
Question Terrified of therapy...

I'm Dee, I'm 18 and I graduated from High School in June. Well, during the time I was in high school I saw my school psychologist regularly, and when it got closer to graduation he told me it was in my best interest to go to the mental health center to see if I have a mental disorder like depression. My mom is clinically depressed and has been for years, I've been through a very long, hard past 5 years and the pat 2 have been the worst of all. I don't know much about depression even though my mom has it (she's been on Effexor for a while) and when she was diagnosed I was too young to even recognize something was wrong with her. I know some of the symptoms, and I have them, but whenever I say to myself "you may have a problem" I always tell myself that it can't be as big a deal as depression. Since I'm 18 I have to make an appointment personally, but I'm almost afraid to get the help that I may need because I feel like the person will be sitting there, judging me, and then I'm constantly afraid they're going to say "Well, you're ridiculous, there's nothing wrong with you, you're just weak" I want to go, but I'm afraid of being rejected even by a psychologist. I'm working myself over nothing. Can you cry when you're talking to someone and if you don't will that impact your results at all? I never cry in front of people...or I try not to. I want to be sure of what I have or don't have without having to worry that I messed up some way and that they didn't get accurate answers. Is it normal to be afraid like this? And when you're in therapy what do they ask you or tell you, or talk about? Is it uncomfortable. Help is appreciated. Thank you =]

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-13-2005, 06:40 PM   #2