It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2003, 03:30 AM   #1

seanburroughs HB User
Question Depression? Or What?

If anyone can give me some advice I would appreciate it. I am a 30+ year old male that may have been having episodes of depression for more than 10 years (I am not sure). I am the owner of a technology company that is 14 years old. I am a lead designer of our main products. However, I am also responsible to lead the Team and keep them productive.

I seem to go through cycles of active “creativeness” and then total lack of motivation. During the times of “Creativeness” I stay up all night working and sleep very little. I estimate averaging 2-4 hours per days. Even with little sleep I design difficult parts of our products. Afterwards many would suspect (including me) that lack of sleep would result in sloppy design decisions or mistakes but I find this not to be true.. During this time even after 16 hours of concentrated working I may go to the store, get a steak and salad and spend 4 for hours watching TV because I cannot sleep.

Every 3-6 months I change and believe I exhibit many of the signs of Depression. I will lose almost all of the excitement I get working on projects. I find it extremely difficult to get out of bed and will sometimes sleep for 16 hours. Even when awake I cannot concentrate and may spend the rest of my time awake staring at the TV. I can go for months without getting anywhere on my work.