It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2003, 07:18 PM   #1

VictoriaJean HB User
Post Serotonin Test Results

Hi. I am new to this message board and am hoping someone out there has some information about the following...I went to my general doctor complaining about fatigue. He told me that a common cause of fatigue for a woman in her 30's is depression which causes the fatigue. I did not want to accept that answer. I agreed to take some blood tests, including a serotonin test. My blood work came back fine, but my serotonin levels came back much lower than normal. Has anyone taken a serotonin test and does anyone know if it is common to have lower than normal serotonin levels? I am at a point in my life where I was hoping to start a family soon, but now I am concerned about that. Thanks for any info.

Old 09-29-2003, 04:16 AM   #2

BethyM HB User
wow, when I asked if there was a way to measure serotonin, I was told no, there was no accurate way....But, you had one so hmmmm, if there was a test, I guess the pharmaceutical companies and doctors would be out some money, because a lot of trial and error with medications would be avoided....now I feel P***sed!....the only thing I can think of though, is serotonin is made in your brain and metabolized in your brain too, so I don't think you're supposed to have a lot of serotonin floating around in your bloodstream, so a blood test might not be accurate, I don't know, I'm no expert

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-29-2003, 07:47 PM   #3

VictoriaJean HB User