It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2006, 09:44 PM   #1
(male)

valeran HB User
Not sure where to begin...

I just registered for this board, and yes, I am a depressed individual. I'm not sure where to begin, so, will start at the beginning. I started out as a child... just kidding (for you Bill Cosby fans).

Really though, I'm not kidding. That is where, after much introspection, it did start with me. You see, I grew up in a househould under a father who didn't allow, refused to accept, failure of any kind. I graduated high school 28th in my class and with a 3.84 gpa. College wasn't for me, so I joined the military. I graduated from the 4th hardest "tech school" in the Navy (at that time). What I'm getting at, is that I NEVER failed, at anything. If I got hurt, I just "sucked it up" and went on. When I took schools, I was always Honor Roll, Deans List, Distinguished Graduate. In my jobs, I was promoted quickly, or, just fought with my bosses who didn't do as good of a job as I did.

And this is the crux of my depression. I never failed... until now.

You see, 3 years ago, my body failed. I put out my back while on the job. Oh sure, I still worked, and likely, made it much worse, until I just couldn't work through it anymore. That was my last day of work. I finally got surgery on my back last year and it is only now that medically, I am doing much better. Mentally? I guess the old adage of "an image cast in stone" is applicable. The surgeon flat told me that I would never be able to do the jobs I used to do. My jobs were my life. I know that sounds... well... wierd... but, they were. I was part of an elite team. I was in high risk jobs. All of the training, all of my experience, is now basically useless. Everything I have tried since has failed; college courses, opening my own business, everything.