It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2006, 05:25 AM   #1
(male)

perfect_life HB User
Trying to lead the perfect life

Hi,

I'm D. This is my first time, so i'm sure everyone will know how alien it feels to stand on the cusp of divulging your deepest darkest thoughts to a group of complete strangers.

I'm 23 and I've suffered from depression for about 5 years. From the outside, my life looks great. I've been blessed with good looks and I've always been popular with girls. I got a 1H in university and I now have a career with a big mgt. consultancy firm. I'm good at sports and am very popular in all areas of my life - my family, friends and work.

So why? Why do I frequently get into moods where all I want is for it to be over?

I think the reasons go back to my childhood (doesn't everything..!). My brother bullied me a lot growing up. He was three years older than me but would routinely kick the living daylights out of me. He would do nasty things like pin me down and spit on my face, making me feel so weak and useless. He even let his friends beat me. He once sexually abused me. He mentally abused me, which to me was probably the worst part. Day in, day out, he would make me feel totally inadequate, mocking everything I would say and intimidating me to the point where I was afraid to say anything in my own house. My parents would tell him to stop bullying me, although they would always tell me to stop provoking him, even though I did nothing to provoke him, i was just being myself and trying to stand up to him. Eventually my parents would get fed up of me coming into them crying and would tell me to cop onto myself.