It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2006, 02:22 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

CaringMom HB User
Unhappy How to Continue

Hi Everyone.
I'm new to this, yet have been viewing for some time now, here at work! To get to the point, my daughter (15) is having problems with depression, (self esteem per couselor). Things really escalated in November. Seeing a counselor seems to help, but when an appointment is cancelled for reasons beyond our control, she is really down. School is the major issue at this point. Has missed a whole week in November and has yet to go this week. The evenings are okay, she talks, seems to be in a decent mood. Mornings are horrible!! Was put on trazadone to help with the sleeping problems, but she says it doesn't help anymore and wants to be done with them. I don't want her taking it either but I'm at my wits ends. I'm doing everything I can, supporting her, trying to be positive,(she's an A-B student), not getting upset, but how can I continue when I feel like I am falling apart myself and yet have to continue to get up and go to work? (I also have a daughter in college who I feel I am neglecting due to my worrying about her sister). She says nothing is wrong in school, friendships, family; she just doesn't know. I think she does, deep down. Will this ever come out? I am so worried about her giving up. I'm tired of being tired and feeling like I'm being used and manipulated which I hear is how many feel at this point. Others out there with children going through this? Also, I think this can be hereditary as my father in law has been through this and my husband's nephew has bouts with anger/depression. He is close with my daughter, a year apart in the same school. Thanks for reading.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-07-2006, 02:37 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

oceandreams HB User
Re: How to Continue