It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2006, 04:05 AM   #1
(female)

insrchofpeace HB User
Angry Don't know what to do

I have been diagnosed with mild to moderate depression and have self diagnosed myself as having dysthymia. I can function on a daily basis, shower, eat, go to work, no trouble sleeping but I don't ever feel happy or angry and most of the time my mood is indifferent. Although I do become extremely sad sometimes.

I'm 25 and feeling that life is pointless and meant to be suffered through until you reach the release of death. I did graduate from college but went to the wrong school and didn't receive a good enough education. I am not good at my chosen career path (not being unrealistically hard on myself, I'm really just not good at it), and all I can find are low paying jobs. I hate my current job and all I do is sit on a computer all day and surf the internet. Sounds ideal right? Well for awhile its ok but then I start thinking and become depressed. I have work to do about 1 week out of the month. Now my job is relocating and I will have to have a very long commute and no extra money because I will have to spend it on gas.

The only thing in life that I feel I have control over is my job. And I beat myself up frequently because I can't find one that pays enough and that I'm just not good enough. I need to look for another job but don't have the energy. Why bother? Who wants to hire me anyway? I'm not talkative or confident or enthusiastic. I've been on interviews and second interviews with no result. Whats the point? I really want to have a career path where I do well and get promoted, but chances of that happening seem slim to none.