It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2006, 03:43 PM   #1
(male)

Phazed HB User
Student with depression seeking help (advice)

I am a 19 year old student at an English university, taking Mathematics.

Depression is slowly beginning to take over my life. I had my first severe depression episode when I was 16, which was triggered by my obsessive love for my unobtainable best friend, the pressure of my A levels, and problems with my parents. My parents didn't know what was wrong with me and I felt unable to open up to them and explain how I felt, I drank heavily and my eating patterns fluctuated wildly. I felt this way for a year, then I thought I had come out of that state of feeling, and worked incredibly hard and rose to the top of my A level Mathematics class, from the bottom. I felt very empowered and strong, and continued this way for another 6 months, reaching the pinnacle with my 18th birthday and a set of excellent exam results.

However, my depression returned quickly. I had a series of devasting conflicts with a girl who meant an enormous amount to me, my grades collapsed partly due to overconfidence, and all the feelings I thought I had beaten off returned. I had complete and utter apathy towards my academic progress, I simply didn't care. I managed to scrape up just enough to get into the Maths department of an OK university, and hoped for a fresh start. I hoped it was just a phase.