It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2006, 01:07 AM   #1
(male)

Lightprof HB User
Unhappy Bad depression and life-choices...

I'm a professional guy in his mid-50's. I've always had low-grade depression and anxiety (I worry if I don't have anything to worry about!, and I've taken Wellbutrin and Prozac before...) I've been a designer for 30 years and a Professor/teacher for 17. I have really enjoyed designing (I have many awards)... and teaching.. until now.

In May last year I was abroad and was diagnosed with an incurable long-term disease. The anxiety was HUGE and I couldn't sleep. The doc prescribed Ativan 1mg nightly to help me relax and sleep (without any warning about it...). Wow, I slept 12+ hrs! I kept taking it... then realized after a few days that 12 hours later I was sweating, heart racing, termors etc etc. Turns out they were inter-dose withdrawal sypmtoms. (Ativan should be taken at least 2-3 times a day.) Then I tried to stop, and realized I was dependent!!.. after just a few weeks. (Benzos are SO dangerous..)

Anyway, to cut a long story short in Sept and back in USA I started to slowly get myself off the Ativan. It took 12 weeks, during which time I was hit with HUGE depression. Maybe it was already present and the Ativan was just hiding it..?

I now have no joy in life. I can hardly concentrate on teaching or designing. I feel like I just barely "function" every day, and everything is overwhelming. I also sleep very little and wake early. (Evenings are much better than mornings...) I've been diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder. I've also realized that I've made REALLY bad choices of relationships over the past 12 years in my personal life.. I know I can't reverse them, but now they seem overwhelming and seem to have lead me to where I am now.